💡 FREE WordPress Tutorials By WP SORT IT!

Using Trash

This ‘Using Trash’ tutorial covers:

  • Moving a Post or Page to the Trash
  • The Post and Page action menu
  • ‘Undo’ move to trash
  • ‘Delete Permanently’

Moving a Post or Page to the ‘Trash’ will remove it from the front end of your site but will not permanently delete the item for 30 days. To move a Post or Page to the trash from the Post or Page editor, click ‘Move to Trash’ in the ‘Publish’ module. A banner will display at the top of the screen letting you know the item was successfully moved to the trash. Click ‘Undo’ to restore the item.

'Undo' will restore the item.
‘Undo’ will restore the item.

Posts, Pages and Comments each have their own trash folder. Clicking the Trash link from above the list of Posts, Pages or Comments will take you to a list of the items in that Trash folder. Hovering over an item in the ‘Trash’ will reveal an action menu. ‘Restore’ will make the item active again and ‘Delete Permanently’ will remove the item from your site immediately.

Clicking 'Delete Permanently' will remove the item immediately.
Clicking ‘Delete Permanently’ will remove the item immediately.

Give your users, clients or internal staff a guide to ‘Using Trash’ and introduce them to another powerful feature for managing content in WordPress.

Start typing and press Enter to search

TRY FOR 2 WEEKS £1 Only